UK celebrates off-beat laughs with Not BBC Comedy Awards

By | January 4, 2011 at 1:12 pm | No comments | News | Tags:

Everyone knows which network dominates most of Great Britain’s airwaves, so why not show some love for some funny stuff that’s a little off the beaten BBC path?

The seventh annual Not BBC Comedy Awards was held recently across the pond. The winners are decided by fan votes, and the list of winners reads like a who’s who of England’s most promising comedy stars.

With wins for Best Live Comedy Show, Best Comedy/Humour Book and Best Comedy Performer, the man of the hour is definitely comedian Stewart Lee (see video below!) The Biggest Contribution To British Comedy Award was given posthumously to Chris Sievey.

Also, the awards point out things that blow (see: Worst Comedy Performer category, and Which Fucking Shit Ads Are Fucking Shitter Award).

Visit the award show website for a full list of winners, which includes the top three most voted names in each category.

About the Author

Brendan McLaughlin

Brendan is a comedian and writer based in Brooklyn, NY.

© 2011-2013 Laughspin. Some rights reserved. Hosted by ServInt
/* CODE */ This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below. ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> /* Code */