Chelsea Handler, The Muppets, Kevin Hart among performers for Montreal’s Just For Laughs fest

By | May 9, 2012 at 6:18 pm | No comments | News | Tags: ,

It’s the longest running comedy festival in the world. And this year, its celebrating 30 years from July 12 – 29. Festival organizers announced the huge lineup moments ago, via Twitter. And they kicked things off telling its followers that on July 26, The Muppets will be there.

Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, Gonzo, Fozzie Bear, Animal, Pepe the King Prawn, Dr. Bunsen Honeydew, Beaker, Swedish Chef, Sam Eagle, Walter, Rizzo, Rowlf the Dog, and The Electric Mayhem– not to mention Statler & Waldorf will all be there.

Chelsea Handler will be given the Comedy Person of the Year Award. Kevin Hart, Aziz Ansari, Bill Hader will host a Gala, Bob Saget will host JFL XXX, John Pinette will host his own Gala; Lewis Black will host ‘The American Dream? Election Night; Jim Gaffigan will perform; Patton Oswalt will perform in concert and will give the keynote address during the comedy conference portion of the festival.

The crazy food dudes from Epic Meal Time will be there. Wayne Brady will perform “I See White People; Mario Cantone will preview his sequel to Laugh Whore; Adam Carolla and Marc Maron will host live tapings of their podcasts; Jeff Garlin will perform, JB Smoove will be there; and Hannibal Buress will perform and will also be given the Rising Comedy Star Award.

Jim Jeffries will perform his show Fully Functional; Jordan Peele and Keegan Michael-Key will accept the Breakout Star Award and both Tommy Tiernan and Jimmy Carr – longtime friends of the fest – will return to perform new shows. And comedian Bobby Slayton will also be back to host the Nasty Show.

Other comedians set to perform are: Anthony Jeselnik, Paul F. Tompkins, Andy Kindler, Todd Barry, Chris D’Elia, Kristen Schaal, Pete Holmes, Amy Schumer, Rob Delaney, Eric Andre, Erik Griffin, Sebastian Maniscalco, Wendy Liebman, Theo Von, Godfrey, Jerrod Carmichael (one of the New Faces from last year), Paul Provenza, Iliza Shlesinger, Tommy Johnagin, Joe Mande, Myq Kaplan, Paula Bel, Brian Keith Etheridge, Sean Cullen, Debra Di Giovanni, Derek Edwards, Tim Steeves, Mark Little, Darrin Rose, Dave Merheje, Tim Nutt, Nile Seguin, Mark Forward, DeAnne Smith, Mike Lawrence, Rory Scovel, Terry Alderton, Sam Simmons, Greg Davies, Adam Hills, Nick Vatterott, Ali Wong, Moshe Kasher, Adam Riches, Graham Chittenden, Hari Kondabolu, James Adomian, Greg Morton, Darcy Micahel, Mo Mandel, Dave Hemstad, Doc Brown, Nathan McIntosh, Pete Zedlacher, Phil Hanley, Stewart Francis, Na’im Lynn (check him out on The Half Hour on Comedy Central), Jay Malone, Jessica Kirson, John Heffron, Josh Howie, Ryan Hamilton, Sean Patton, Jon Reep, Greg Behrendt, Nikki Glaser and Dave Hughes.

And there’s some behind-the-scenes folks who will be speaking or appearing on the festival’s panels each day. Those peeps include: Bill Prady, the executive producer of The Big Bang Theory, filmmaker Burnie Burns, Sam Reich and Spencer Griffin of College Humor; Brian Hunt and Thom Zadra of Yahoo!

If you could believe it, JFL will continue to announce additions over the next few weeks. And as always the New Faces list will not be announced until the day of the first New Faces showcase. Stay tuned.

About the Author

Dylan P. Gadino

Dylan is the founder and editor in chief of Laughspin. He launched Punchline Magazine in 2005 (which became Laughspin in the summer of 2011) with childhood friend Bill Bergmann. Dylan lives in northern New Jersey with his wife and two sons. He hopes the Shire is real.

© 2011-2013 Laughspin. Some rights reserved. Hosted by ServInt
/* CODE */ This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below. ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> /* Code */