It’s official: Seth Meyers will replace Jimmy Fallon as ‘Late Night’ host

By | May 12, 2013 at 6:33 pm | 2 comments | feature slider, News, TV/Movies | Tags: , , , , ,

It’s official! Saturday Night Live head writer and “Weekend Update” anchor Seth Meyers will replace Jimmy Fallon as the host of Late Night as Fallon replaces Jay Leno at The Tonight Show in February. Meyers, 39, will stay on with SNL through its current season and will likely begin prepping for Late Night in January, according to reports.

“I don’t want to make any broad pronouncements about how the show is going to be, whether it’s going to be the same or different,” the 12-year SNL veteran told the New York Times about his version of Late Night. “But I have to draw on my background in improvisational comedy and sketch comedy and stand-up comedy and try to find some mix of that.”

Lorne Michaels, the SNL, Late Night and, now, Tonight Show honcho (as it moves to New York City) says the decision that makes Meyers a headlining figure at 12:35 am each night was an easy one to make. “The only name that kept coming up was Seth,” Michaels told the Times. “I think he radiates intelligence. He has a background as a performer and a writer. And because I think he doesn’t like to copy anyone, I think he will find a way to make the show different and distinct and not a mirror of The Tonight Show.”

Be sure to subscribe to the weekly Laughspin Podcast on iTunes or on SoundCloud for all the latest comedy news, audio clips and more! Listen to the most recent episode below!

About the Author

Dylan P. Gadino

Dylan is the founder and editor in chief of Laughspin. He launched Punchline Magazine in 2005 (which became Laughspin in the summer of 2011) with childhood friend Bill Bergmann. Dylan lives in northern New Jersey with his wife and two sons. He hopes the Shire is real.

© 2011-2013 Laughspin. Some rights reserved. Hosted by ServInt
/* CODE */ This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below. ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> ]]> /* Code */